All hail the King! The champ retired after third Miracle Mile

All hail the King! The champ retired after third Miracle Mile
Published on:

King Of Swing has been retired following his historic third Miracle Mile success.

The Belinda McCarthy-trained seven-year-old produced a brilliant performance to win the $1million Grand Circuit classic ahead of stablemate Spirit Of St Louis (Jack Callaghan) and third-placed Victorian Better Eclipse (Jess Tubbs/Greg Sugars) at Menangle on Saturday night.

He is now the only three-time winner of the race.

An early speed burn threw a spanner in the works for King Of Swing, who was crossed in barrier one when Nathan Jack sent Mach Dan (Emma Stewart) straight to the lead at the start. But Luke McCarthy was quickly off the pegs with his charge and despite pressure from Bondi Lockdown (Aaron Dunn), managed to take up the lead in a frantic beginning to the 1609m sprint.

King Of Swing’s rivals tried their best to catch him in the dash to the line, but the son of Rocknroll Hanover was too strong, holding on to win by just over a metre in a mile rate of 1:49.2sec.

“That was just a massive thrill,” Luke McCarthy told Sky Racing.

“After the week we’ve had and still being able to have him at that level to be able to win a Miracle Mile is unbelievable.

“It’s kind of surreal.

“You dream of winning the Miracle Mile as a driver and to win three in-a-row on this horse has just been so special and it’s just a dream come true.”

With retirement confirmed to Adam Hamilton by part-owner Glen Moore, King Of Swing finishes his glorious career with 44 wins from 82 starts and with well over $3million in prizemoney.

The 2022 Miracle Mile was rescheduled from last weekend due to a torrential downpour which hit the Menangle track in the minutes before start time.


1 KING OF SWING NZ Fr1 1 Belinda McCarthy Luke McCarthy

2 SPIRIT OF ST LOUIS NZ Fr2 2 Belinda McCarthy Jack Callaghan 1.2m

3 BETTER ECLIPSE Fr8 10 Jess Tubbs Greg Sugars 3.9m

4 MAJESTIC CRUISER Fr3 3 Jason Grimson Cameron Hart 6.2m

5 BUNDORAN NZ Fr4 4 Amanda Turnbull Amanda Turnbull 6.3m

6 MACH DAN Fr5 5 Emma Stewart Nathan Jack 7.7m

7 EXPENSIVE EGO Fr6 6 Belinda McCarthy Chris Geary 9.0m

8 BONDI LOCKDOWN Fr7 9 Aaron Dunn Aaron Dunn 33.2m

Written By Tim O’Connor for The Trots

Postal Address
Po Box 157
Cobbitty NSW
Australia 2570

© Cobbitty Equine Farm. All rights reserved. Built by Getmilk.